All home networking related discussions.
quencybrown

Help! I wired cat5e but cannot connect at gigabit speed!

Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:23 am

I ran my own cat5e ethernet into a new room I have been renovating. This was the first time I ever wired an ethernet cable to a patch panel and to a in-wall jack in the room.

PROBLEM: When I plug my computer into the in-wall jack in my computer room, the other end of the in-wall jack connects to my D-Link gigabit switch. Windows reports this connection at 100mb. If I run a cable directly from my computer to the switch (by-passing the in-wall wiring), it connects at 1gb.

Does this confirm my in-wall wiring job was done poorly?

I did some googling, and I think 100mb ethernet only uses 2 out of the 4 pairs of wires. Do you think its possible that I did not punch some of the pairs properly?

I borrowed a Molex cable tester from my work but have not had the chance to use it yet (I will use it when I get home tonight). I am a newbie to this stuff, but I see there are 3 different jacks on each Molex device labled "USOC", "586A", and "586B". If I remember correctly, the 586A and 586B are color coded wiring standards. The 586A port on my Modex cable tester is broken, but the other 2 seem to work. Does it matter if my in-wall wiring is using 586A but I use the 586B port on my tester? Is it still an accurate test?

Im hoping my Molex cable tester detects some kind of problem with one or more of the pairs of twisted wires. There are 4 lights on my Molex cable tester, so Im hoping only 2 of them light up. But if all 4 light up, is there anything else I can do to test and troubleshoot this problem?

I already verified all the ethernet cables I use are all cat5e (I checked this by reading the markings on the wires themselves).

Any help you guys could offer would be appreciated!

javentre
Post Whore

Re: Help! I wired cat5e but cannot connect at gigabit speed!

Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:25 am