RIP, EIGRP, OSPF, IS-IS, BGP, MPLS, VTP, STP.
User avatar
didigno
Member
Posts:
134
Joined:
Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:11 pm
Certs:
CCNP, CCNA VOICE/SECURITY, JNCIA, NRS I

Hardware upgrade

Wed Feb 01, 2012 10:15 am

Hi All,

I need to upgrade my hardware network due my Manager would like to migrate our network from 1 Gb to 10 Gb. I know that it will take a long time, and we will upgrade it step by step.

We have 2 core: 1 has (3) 3750 in stack and the second one has (9) 3750 in stack as well. These 2 core are connect with an otherstack of 4 3750.

I would like get the nexus as the new sitches

My question are the follow:

1)If they decide to buy a nexus, a stack of 5000 is ok for that network?

2)Are the nexus 2000 the siwtches that upgrade the 2960?

3)Does is it better buy 2 4500 or 2 6500?

Any suggestion?

Thansk in advance :thankyou:

User avatar
ristau5741
Post Whore
Posts:
10547
Joined:
Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:15 pm
Certs:
Instanity

Re: Hardware upgrade

Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:24 am

entry level price for a Nexus is about 26,000 US for a base model.
you can't stack Nexus, you can extend the fabric, the nexus
line is more of a data center swtich then an end user switch,
so a 4500 or 6500 may be more appropriate,

is the plan 10G to the desktop ? that cost would be prohibitive,

and answers
1. no
2. no
3. yes
Tips of the day:
- The human mind is the ultimate creation invention.
- I have so many customers, my customers have customers.
- Sausage time
- POP, stack, and store

User avatar
didigno
Member
Posts:
134
Joined:
Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:11 pm
Certs:
CCNP, CCNA VOICE/SECURITY, JNCIA, NRS I

Re: Hardware upgrade

Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:37 am

Thanks ristau5741 for your reply.

$ 26K for how many and which equipments?

The plane is move all the server at 10 Gb.

I wanna get nexus for see the new cisco switches and know new technologies.

But, why the 2000 can not replace the 3750? is the 2000 only L2?

Thanks

User avatar
davidrothera
Ultimate Member
Posts:
992
Joined:
Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:10 pm
Certs:
CCIE R&S #38338, CCNP, CCIP

Re: Hardware upgrade

Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:46 pm

The Nexus like comprises of the 7K which is most like the 6500 in that its modular and has a bunch of power (virtually everything is upgradeable throughout the lifetime of the chassis).

The 5K is a fixed configuration switch which again has a bunch of power but isn't as configurable.

The 2K's are DUMB switches in that on their own they are a useless piece of metal, to work they need to be paired to a 5K or a 7K (with a specific line card) and they then appear just like a line card.

As ristau said the Nexus is more for a DC than for an end user deployment.

If you are looking at buying NEW 6500 chassis' for your servers then talk to your SE as you might find that the Nexus alternative is pretty similarly priced.

EDIT: By the way I am ignoring that there are some other devices in the Nexus range like the 1K which is used in VMware environments and the 3K which is a bit like the 4900 but I havent really studied them much so I can't comment on them.
---
David
CCIE R&S #38338, CCIP, CCNP

http://networkbroadcast.co.uk - My Blog
http://twitter.com/davidrothera

User avatar
didigno
Member
Posts:
134
Joined:
Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:11 pm
Certs:
CCNP, CCNA VOICE/SECURITY, JNCIA, NRS I

Re: Hardware upgrade

Wed May 16, 2012 4:25 pm

Guys, do you know if the nexus are compatible with the 3750?

User avatar
davidrothera
Ultimate Member
Posts:
992
Joined:
Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:10 pm
Certs:
CCIE R&S #38338, CCNP, CCIP

Re: Hardware upgrade

Wed May 16, 2012 4:58 pm

What do you mean by 'compatible'?
---
David
CCIE R&S #38338, CCIP, CCNP

http://networkbroadcast.co.uk - My Blog
http://twitter.com/davidrothera

User avatar
routerdork
Post Whore
Posts:
1535
Joined:
Tue Feb 22, 2011 9:40 am
Certs:
CCNA, MCDST, MCP, A+

Re: Hardware upgrade

Wed May 16, 2012 5:54 pm

davidrothera wrote:What do you mean by 'compatible'?

If it fits in the hole...shove it in and run away.

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk 2

User avatar
Vito_Corleone
Moderator
Posts:
9850
Joined:
Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:38 am
Certs:
CCNP RS, CCNP DC, CCDP, CCIP

Re: Hardware upgrade

Wed May 16, 2012 6:27 pm

You need to contact your SE or a VAR. You have some misconceptions about the Catalyst and Nexus lines. That's what SEs and partners are for.
http://blog.alwaysthenetwork.com

User avatar
Project2501
Post Whore
Posts:
6158
Joined:
Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:44 pm
Certs:
CCNA

Re: Hardware upgrade

Wed May 16, 2012 7:20 pm

Juniper MX. Just do it. ;)

Sent via mobile internet.
- Pete

User avatar
Vito_Corleone
Moderator
Posts:
9850
Joined:
Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:38 am
Certs:
CCNP RS, CCNP DC, CCDP, CCIP

Re: Hardware upgrade

Wed May 16, 2012 8:16 pm

Project2501 wrote:Juniper MX. Just do it. ;)

Sent via mobile internet.


Why?
http://blog.alwaysthenetwork.com

User avatar
baybars
Ultimate Member
Posts:
683
Joined:
Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:53 pm
Certs:
CCNA, CCNA Security, 642-902

Re: Hardware upgrade

Wed May 16, 2012 10:09 pm

didigno wrote:Guys, do you know if the nexus are compatible with the 3750?



I think they are, considering they're using ethernet.

User avatar
dnetworks
Junior Member
Posts:
66
Joined:
Wed May 09, 2012 10:44 pm
Certs:
CCNP

Re: Hardware upgrade

Wed May 16, 2012 10:32 pm

didigno wrote:Guys, do you know if the nexus are compatible with the 3750?



Ethernet is ethernet. Just don't plug the 3750 into the N2k, all I ask. :) Those are designed for HOST ports, not switches.
http://www.defendingnetworks.com/

User avatar
Vito_Corleone
Moderator
Posts:
9850
Joined:
Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:38 am
Certs:
CCNP RS, CCNP DC, CCDP, CCIP

Re: Hardware upgrade

Wed May 16, 2012 10:38 pm

dnetworks wrote:
didigno wrote:Guys, do you know if the nexus are compatible with the 3750?



Ethernet is ethernet. Just don't plug the 3750 into the N2k, all I ask. :) Those are designed for HOST ports, not switches.


Doesn't really work anyway. Don't say BPDUFilter...
http://blog.alwaysthenetwork.com

User avatar
davidrothera
Ultimate Member
Posts:
992
Joined:
Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:10 pm
Certs:
CCIE R&S #38338, CCNP, CCIP

Re: Hardware upgrade

Thu May 17, 2012 2:46 am

Vito_Corleone wrote:
dnetworks wrote:
didigno wrote:Guys, do you know if the nexus are compatible with the 3750?



Ethernet is ethernet. Just don't plug the 3750 into the N2k, all I ask. :) Those are designed for HOST ports, not switches.


Doesn't really work anyway. Don't say BPDUFilter...


Unfortunately that was TAC's answer when we said we needed to plug a switch into a 2K for a specific project, needless to say we ran a mile...
---
David
CCIE R&S #38338, CCIP, CCNP

http://networkbroadcast.co.uk - My Blog
http://twitter.com/davidrothera

User avatar
Project2501
Post Whore
Posts:
6158
Joined:
Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:44 pm
Certs:
CCNA

Re: Hardware upgrade

Thu May 17, 2012 3:30 am

Vito_Corleone wrote:
Project2501 wrote:Juniper MX. Just do it. ;)

Sent via mobile internet.


Why?


Mainly because I love them more than the nexus that we have.
- Pete

User avatar
mellowd
CCIE #38070
Posts:
13814
Joined:
Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:49 am
Certs:
CCIE (RS,SP), JNCIE-SP, BC-/SPNE/NP

Re: Hardware upgrade

Thu May 17, 2012 3:52 am

Vito_Corleone wrote:
Project2501 wrote:Juniper MX. Just do it. ;)

Sent via mobile internet.


Why?


Why not

User avatar
didigno
Member
Posts:
134
Joined:
Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:11 pm
Certs:
CCNP, CCNA VOICE/SECURITY, JNCIA, NRS I

Re: Hardware upgrade

Thu May 17, 2012 6:39 am

I meant if there is any way to connect any Nexus with the 3750?
It's seems not mention on the Cisco's website.

Do you know where I can find some documentations?

Thanks

User avatar
Vito_Corleone
Moderator
Posts:
9850
Joined:
Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:38 am
Certs:
CCNP RS, CCNP DC, CCDP, CCIP

Re: Hardware upgrade

Thu May 17, 2012 7:37 am

mellowd wrote:Why not


I don't see how the MX series fits where the Nexus does. The MX is more like the ASR 1k and 9k. Just seems like a stupid thing to say for no real reason. Unless I'm wrong about the MX positioning.
http://blog.alwaysthenetwork.com

User avatar
Vito_Corleone
Moderator
Posts:
9850
Joined:
Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:38 am
Certs:
CCNP RS, CCNP DC, CCDP, CCIP

Re: Hardware upgrade

Thu May 17, 2012 7:38 am

davidrothera wrote:Unfortunately that was TAC's answer when we said we needed to plug a switch into a 2K for a specific project, needless to say we ran a mile...


Nice. We had to do it temporarily for some management stuff recently. Luckily it was only for a couple days. It's such a bad idea.
http://blog.alwaysthenetwork.com

User avatar
ristau5741
Post Whore
Posts:
10547
Joined:
Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:15 pm
Certs:
Instanity

Re: Hardware upgrade

Thu May 17, 2012 7:43 am

didigno wrote:I meant if there is any way to connect any Nexus with the 3750?
It's seems not mention on the Cisco's website.

Do you know where I can find some documentations?

Thanks


what type of ports do these things have?

SFP ports, RJ45 ports, on either, or both?

depending on the models, you may need to use a copper SFP for example.
so more information is needed,

https://supportforums.cisco.com/thread/2055249
https://supportforums.cisco.com/thread/2121919
https://supportforums.cisco.com/thread/2112331
https://supportforums.cisco.com/thread/2071002
https://supportforums.cisco.com/thread/2064471

any of these help ?
Tips of the day:
- The human mind is the ultimate creation invention.
- I have so many customers, my customers have customers.
- Sausage time
- POP, stack, and store

'
Next

Return to Cisco Routing and Switching

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot] and 20 guests