All other Cisco networking related discussions.
samp17
New Member
Posts:
1
Joined:
Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:26 am

Cisco 3512XL initial setup

Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:31 am

Hi,

I recently purchased a Cisco 3512XL switch second hand however I have not recieved any login details or default IP addresses.

I am connected to the switch straight through one of the 10/100 ports on the front and was hoping to use the CNS http page. I have done a network scan to find all the IP Addresses on the network and have located the IP address of the switch however when I type the address into my browser it does not locate the http CNS, it just says 'could not find page.'

Can anyone help me get round this, is there some sort of hard factory reset that I can use, or some way to control this? I do not have the 'console cable' to use as I am guessing this is not just a standard cat5 cable.

Any suggestions appreciated,
Sam

User avatar
wirerat
Post Whore
Posts:
5340
Joined:
Tue Mar 31, 2009 4:15 pm
Certs:
More than none

Re: Cisco 3512XL initial setup

Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:33 am

You'll need to use the console port.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/ ... ttermtocat
"See packet, be packet, you are packet. Ignore all else!" -The Networker
packetsdropped.wordpress.com

User avatar
kerpap
Ultimate Member
Posts:
765
Joined:
Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Certs:
CCNA, CCDA, CCNA-SECURITY

Re: Cisco 3512XL initial setup

Wed May 02, 2012 11:34 pm

the unit may not have a web GUI. some switches dont have the HTTP file in it.
you will need to configure via the console port as stated above.
CCNA, CCDA, CCNA-SECURITY

User avatar
mellowd
CCIE #38070
Posts:
13814
Joined:
Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:49 am
Certs:
CCIE (RS,SP), JNCIE-SP, BC-/SPNE/NP

Re: Cisco 3512XL initial setup

Thu May 03, 2012 2:20 am

Did you actually buy one of these? I would not even give them away. They are ancient layer 2 switches.

User avatar
kerpap
Ultimate Member
Posts:
765
Joined:
Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Certs:
CCNA, CCDA, CCNA-SECURITY

Re: Cisco 3512XL initial setup

Thu May 03, 2012 10:12 pm

there is a tool that comes with backtrack linux that allows you to hack into the admin GUI very easily.
plus you can hack the show config. there is no enable secret option so you can crack the type 7 password and hack the switch.
not that there would be much to do.

basically only good for basic access.
CCNA, CCDA, CCNA-SECURITY

'

Return to Cisco General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests