All Juniper related discussions.
User avatar
Carlitos_30
Post Whore
Posts:
1222
Joined:
Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:30 am
Certs:
CCENT, CCNA,CCNP R&S

JNCIA do you need to buy some switches to pass?

Fri Nov 25, 2011 2:42 pm

Hello!

Do you think is necessary to buy some switches to prepare the exam?

Thanks for sharing!

User avatar
mellowd
CCIE #38070
Posts:
13814
Joined:
Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:49 am
Certs:
CCIE (RS,SP), JNCIE-SP, BC-/SPNE/NP

Re: JNCIA do you need to buy some switches to pass?

Fri Nov 25, 2011 5:57 pm

JNCIA what? There are many tracks.

I did not have access to a EX switch when I did my JNCIA-EX as they are expensive. However at that level you can just learn from a book

User avatar
Carlitos_30
Post Whore
Posts:
1222
Joined:
Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:30 am
Certs:
CCENT, CCNA,CCNP R&S

Re: JNCIA do you need to buy some switches to pass?

Fri Nov 25, 2011 6:21 pm

I tought JNCIA was like CCNA. It seems JNCIA has more specializations. So I ask for JNCIA-JunOS. It looks like it has only routing.

I did not have access to a EX switch when I did my JNCIA-EX


Not access at all? Do you mean never worked with JunOS switches? Or you just used your background operating Juniper routers?

User avatar
burnyd
Post Whore
Posts:
3157
Joined:
Fri Nov 13, 2009 5:15 pm
Certs:
CCIE R&S/SP,CCNP-SP,JNCIA,VCP510,VCA-DCV

Re: JNCIA do you need to buy some switches to pass?

Fri Nov 25, 2011 6:35 pm

jncia junos or jn101 is a really easy test.... its geared for people who have a network background who want to learn more Juniper. I had a good year experience working with Juniper.. I studied for a week and was able to pass it. I think the passing score is around 60% its really low.

I would recommend looking around on how to virtualize a juniper router... its pretty simply and you can run it a few different ways. I ran mine through vmware workstation.
http://danielhertzberg.wordpress.com - I blog about networks!

User avatar
Carlitos_30
Post Whore
Posts:
1222
Joined:
Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:30 am
Certs:
CCENT, CCNA,CCNP R&S

Re: JNCIA do you need to buy some switches to pass?

Fri Nov 25, 2011 6:58 pm

jncia junos or jn101 is a really easy test.... its geared for people who have a network background who want to learn more Juniper. I had a good year experience working with Juniper.. I studied for a week and was able to pass it. I think the passing score is around 60% its really low.

I would recommend looking around on how to virtualize a juniper router... its pretty simply and you can run it a few different ways. I ran mine through vmware workstation.


Thanks for the info. I already installed JunOS in VMWare. It's easy to install but it was hard to find the right tutorial(took me all saturday afternoon to install the thing).

User avatar
burnyd
Post Whore
Posts:
3157
Joined:
Fri Nov 13, 2009 5:15 pm
Certs:
CCIE R&S/SP,CCNP-SP,JNCIA,VCP510,VCA-DCV

Re: JNCIA do you need to buy some switches to pass?

Fri Nov 25, 2011 7:58 pm

yeah I remember it was such a pain. I think you have to install something like 7.4 and then you can upgrade to 10.0.... I spent all day trying to install 10.x and it wouldnt work right.... I think after a day of messing with it I got it on my managment network and I was able to pass ospf routes to it.
http://danielhertzberg.wordpress.com - I blog about networks!

User avatar
mellowd
CCIE #38070
Posts:
13814
Joined:
Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:49 am
Certs:
CCIE (RS,SP), JNCIE-SP, BC-/SPNE/NP

JNCIA do you need to buy some switches to pass?

Sat Nov 26, 2011 3:26 am

Carlitos_30 wrote:
Not access at all? Do you mean never worked with JunOS switches? Or you just used your background operating Juniper routers?


I went on a free juniper day course where we had full access to a bunch of ex switches. That coupled with my existing junos and switching knowledge was enough to pass the exam



Sent on the move...

Morphic
New Member
Posts:
21
Joined:
Wed May 05, 2010 3:27 am
Certs:
CCNA, VCP3&5 ,JNCIS-FWV, JNCIS-SEC CCNP

Re: JNCIA do you need to buy some switches to pass?

Sat Nov 26, 2011 6:04 am

There are some good materials on the juniper website and a pre test last time I looked-if you pass you can get 50% off the exam.

Go to the juniper website - education - fast track. You will need to register so they know who to give the voucher too. And you'll definitely pass :)

User avatar
Carlitos_30
Post Whore
Posts:
1222
Joined:
Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:30 am
Certs:
CCENT, CCNA,CCNP R&S

Re: JNCIA do you need to buy some switches to pass?

Sat Nov 26, 2011 8:30 am

Thanks everybody fo the help.

:thankyou:

'

Return to Juniper Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests