IPv6 design, deployment, standards, and best practices.
johnmcgrath29
New Member
Posts:
13
Joined:
Fri Apr 25, 2014 7:31 am
Certs:
none

IPV6 is not working on my 1841 i get a invaild input

Mon Jun 09, 2014 7:23 am

Hi,

R2(config)#int fa0/1
R2(config-if)#description link_to_R3
R2(config-if)#ipv6 address 1023::2/64
^
% Invalid input detected at '^' marker.

this is what I am getting on my ipv6 six every time I try to apply it
it does work on one of my routers its running 12.4 version the other two
are running 12.3 version

I have tried the enable ipv6 commands
still get the same invalid error message
what is the straight answer to this one as
I can go no further till this is resolved.

regards

User avatar
wirerat
Post Whore
Posts:
5331
Joined:
Tue Mar 31, 2009 4:15 pm
Certs:
More than none

Re: IPV6 is not working on my 1841 i get a invaild input

Mon Jun 09, 2014 7:29 am

Please post up the exact IOS image names.
"See packet, be packet, you are packet. Ignore all else!" -The Networker
packetsdropped.wordpress.com

User avatar
ristau5741
Post Whore
Posts:
10296
Joined:
Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:15 pm
Certs:
Instanity

Re: IPV6 is not working on my 1841 i get a invaild input

Mon Jun 09, 2014 7:38 am

did you enable ipv6 routing on the router???

try this first.

Router(config)#ipv6 unicast-routing

see if that works for you
Tips of the day:
- The human mind is the ultimate creation invention.
- I have so many customers, my customers have customers.
- Sausage time
- POP, stack, and store

johnmcgrath29
New Member
Posts:
13
Joined:
Fri Apr 25, 2014 7:31 am
Certs:
none

Re: IPV6 is not working on my 1841 i get a invaild input

Mon Jun 09, 2014 9:09 am

I will post the IOS IMAGE for you no problem
yes I did try ipv6 unicast-routing unfortunately it did not work ristau5741

Router>show version
Cisco IOS Software, 1841 Software (C1841-ENTSERVICESK9-M), Version 12.3(11)T7, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc3)
Technical Support: http://www.cisco.com/techsupport
Copyright (c) 1986-2005 by Cisco Systems, Inc.
Compiled Fri 29-Jul-05 21:14 by dchih

ROM: System Bootstrap, Version 12.3(8r)T8, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)

Router uptime is 2 minutes
System returned to ROM by power-on
System image file is "flash:c1841-entservicesk9-mz.123-11.T7.bin"


This product contains cryptographic features and is subject to United
States and local country laws governing import, export, transfer and
use. Delivery of Cisco cryptographic products does not imply
third-party authority to import, export, distribute or use encryption.
Importers, exporters, distributors and users are responsible for
compliance with U.S. and local country laws. By using this product you
agree to comply with applicable laws and regulations. If you are unable
to comply with U.S. and local laws, return this product immediately.

A summary of U.S. laws governing Cisco cryptographic products may be found at:
http://www.cisco.com/wwl/export/crypto/tool/stqrg.html

If you require further assistance please contact us by sending email to
export@cisco.com.

Cisco 1841 (revision 5.0) with 117760K/13312K bytes of memory.
Processor board ID FCZ092923L6
2 FastEthernet interfaces
DRAM configuration is 64 bits wide with parity disabled.
191K bytes of NVRAM.
62720K bytes of ATA CompactFlash (Read/Write)

Configuration register is 0x2142

User avatar
wirerat
Post Whore
Posts:
5331
Joined:
Tue Mar 31, 2009 4:15 pm
Certs:
More than none

Re: IPV6 is not working on my 1841 i get a invaild input

Mon Jun 09, 2014 9:30 am

There is no IPv6 support in that version of IOS. Use Cisco Feature Navigator to find an IOS version that does.
"See packet, be packet, you are packet. Ignore all else!" -The Networker
packetsdropped.wordpress.com

johnmcgrath29
New Member
Posts:
13
Joined:
Fri Apr 25, 2014 7:31 am
Certs:
none

Re: IPV6 is not working on my 1841 i get a invaild input

Mon Jun 09, 2014 10:38 am

Cheers will do

'

Return to IPv6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 3 guests