User avatar
sysctl
Senior Member
Posts:
407
Joined:
Thu Apr 01, 2010 10:01 pm
Certs:
CCNA

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:45 pm

You want the cable that Infinite posted the link to. DB60 crossover, one end will be printed DCE and one will be printed DTE. set the clock rate on the DCE end.
A flute with no holes is not a flute. And, a doughnut with no hole is a Danish.

User avatar
scottsee
Post Whore
Posts:
1800
Joined:
Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:45 am
Certs:
NA:R&S, NA:Sec

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Mon Oct 18, 2010 11:08 pm

I don't know why I said DB90, I did mean DB60 :doh:

User avatar
scottsee
Post Whore
Posts:
1800
Joined:
Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:45 am
Certs:
NA:R&S, NA:Sec

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Mon Oct 18, 2010 11:53 pm

Alright.. It's all ordered and coming from Cablesandkits! I would have bought another switch, but I haven't made up my mind yet.

Cisco 3640 Multifunction Router Bundle - 32D/8F w/ Rack Mount Kit
128MB Dram 32MB Flash Kit
NM-1E2W
NM-4T
100 Rack Mount Screws
12U Freestanding Equipment Rack, 19", Black
2 x 1foot DB60's

User avatar
bsdrocker
Ultimate Member
Posts:
962
Joined:
Fri Aug 22, 2008 6:32 pm
Certs:
CCNA, CCDA

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Tue Oct 19, 2010 1:25 am

Nice - I got two 3640's in my lab...

User avatar
ristau5741
Post Whore
Posts:
10294
Joined:
Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:15 pm
Certs:
Instanity

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Tue Oct 19, 2010 8:52 am

Vito_Corleone wrote:
ristau5741 wrote:the benefit you get with the 2600XM versus the 3600's is the ability to run 12.4 code, stick with the 2600XM series, although a 3600 w/ NM4t wouldn't be too bad, (you've aleady got 2 2600XMs) might even look at a 3620 w/nm4t, that would make a great FR switch.


You can run 12.4 on 3640s...

One of my Dynamips IOSes:

c3640-jk9o3s-mz.124-5a.bin

Edit: Most current IOS from CCO is 12.4(25d)



forgot the T - 3600's can't run the 12.4T code like the 2600XM's can

User avatar
Lee1981
Member
Posts:
238
Joined:
Thu Feb 18, 2010 8:31 pm
Certs:
CISA

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:16 am

I guess I get that...but I'd rather buy equipment from you guys, whom I think I can trust :shock:, rather than eBay which may be hit or miss. Yes there's the rating scale thing but I'm always a little weary with eBay. Plus, if I ever do run into issues on the equipment (that I may buy from ya'll), I know where to turn to and it would be much easier to troubleshoot or get a return...or so I think.

Project2501 wrote:
Lee1981 wrote:If I can jump in here...how much are you guys selling the extra equipment that you have laying around for? I'm beginning to think that I'll need a lab at home if I want to be able to do well on the CCENT/CCNA and beyond. These once a week classes have been helpful on the theory...now I just have to apply it and a lab (I think) would assist...thanks.


I'd suggest you check ebay for prices on equipment you're looking for.

How do I put this... The site admin doesn't want the forum to be used in that fashion and it's easy to see why. :hand:

It's networking forum not craigslist forum. :lol: I made a funny.


I'll have to check this site out...

scottsee wrote:Alright, so this is what I'm thinking about buying at Cablesandkits.com.
Romans 5:12 & 15
12 Therefore, just as sin came into the world through one man [Adam], and death through sin, and so death spread to all men because all sinned (cf. Rom. 3:23)
15 For if many died through one man’s trespass, much more have the grace of God and the free gift by the grace of that one man Jesus Christ abounded for many.

User avatar
scottsee
Post Whore
Posts:
1800
Joined:
Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:45 am
Certs:
NA:R&S, NA:Sec

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Tue Oct 19, 2010 2:44 pm

I have the ability to buy 3 x 2811's at $75 a piece.. Should I bother, I already have 3 routers, what I really need is another switch. They had 3 x 3650's and 2 x 3550's for $200 a piece but they're just to much $$ for me right now..


http://phoenix.craigslist.org/wvl/sys/2012986035.html

User avatar
Vito_Corleone
Moderator
Posts:
9847
Joined:
Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:38 am
Certs:
CCNP RS, CCNP DC, CCDP, CCIP

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Tue Oct 19, 2010 2:57 pm

scottsee wrote:I have the ability to buy 3 x 2811's at $75 a piece.. Should I bother, I already have 3 routers, what I really need is another switch. They had 3 x 3650's and 2 x 3550's for $200 a piece but they're just to much $$ for me right now..


http://phoenix.craigslist.org/wvl/sys/2012986035.html


That doesn't sound right. Verify that it works and I'll buy all of it today.
http://blog.alwaysthenetwork.com

User avatar
scottsee
Post Whore
Posts:
1800
Joined:
Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:45 am
Certs:
NA:R&S, NA:Sec

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:04 pm

It's a local computer shop in Phoenix. They told me they power on, but that's the extent that they have the capability of testing. The guy told me they came from a "downline vendor" and I'm welcome to come up, power them on and pound around the IOS before buying them. I just can't make it up their today, it would have to be tomorrow morning..

User avatar
Vito_Corleone
Moderator
Posts:
9847
Joined:
Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:38 am
Certs:
CCNP RS, CCNP DC, CCDP, CCIP

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:11 pm

PM me if you decide to go. Bring a console cable and see what's up. I'll buy all of it if it works and they'll ship.
http://blog.alwaysthenetwork.com

User avatar
scottsee
Post Whore
Posts:
1800
Joined:
Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:45 am
Certs:
NA:R&S, NA:Sec

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:16 pm

Wait a second, how did this go from "Should I buy" to "If you go up I'm going to buy it all"!! :lol:
If it's still there tomarrow, I'll try and make the 2 hour trip up..

User avatar
Vito_Corleone
Moderator
Posts:
9847
Joined:
Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:38 am
Certs:
CCNP RS, CCNP DC, CCDP, CCIP

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:23 pm

2 hours? Jesus. Don't worry about it.
http://blog.alwaysthenetwork.com

User avatar
Steve
Site Admin
Posts:
10617
Joined:
Mon Dec 06, 2004 6:46 pm
Certs:
CCNA

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:40 pm

Would you mind swinging by the Grand Canyon on your way and taking some pics for me? Thanks!

User avatar
scottsee
Post Whore
Posts:
1800
Joined:
Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:45 am
Certs:
NA:R&S, NA:Sec

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:45 pm

I called them back to put a deposit on everything, the gentlemen told me someone came in an bought the 3550's and 3650's, but the 2811's are still available..

Jesus, I can't wait until I don't have this kind of time on my hands!

User avatar
scottsee
Post Whore
Posts:
1800
Joined:
Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:45 am
Certs:
NA:R&S, NA:Sec

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Fri Oct 22, 2010 1:14 am

After reading Wendell Odom's blogs I decided to picked up a Catalyst 2950G-24-EI for the last switch in my CCNA lab. I think it's going to be a nice little lab that should be able to do just about everything the CCNA can throw at me.. Once I get all the hardware setup I'll post a photo.

12 Unit freestanding rack
C2950-24-si
2950G-24-ei
3550
2911xm w/ wic-1t & wic-1dsu-t1
2911xm w/ wic-1t & wic-1dsu-t1
3640 w/ nm-1e2w & nm-t4
Netgear WGR614 Wifi router

User avatar
wirerat
Post Whore
Posts:
5331
Joined:
Tue Mar 31, 2009 4:15 pm
Certs:
More than none

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Fri Oct 22, 2010 4:40 am

Definitely should be enough. You actually have a close to a CCNP level lab. :)
"See packet, be packet, you are packet. Ignore all else!" -The Networker
packetsdropped.wordpress.com

User avatar
jocke
Ultimate Member
Posts:
655
Joined:
Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:56 pm
Certs:
Yes

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Fri Oct 22, 2010 9:42 am

Vito_Corleone wrote:I have a 3550 for you. Trying to talk the wife into shipping it.

Epic moment right there.
The Internet: where men are men, women are men, and children are FBI agents.

http://tech.jocke.no/

User avatar
ristau5741
Post Whore
Posts:
10294
Joined:
Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:15 pm
Certs:
Instanity

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Fri Oct 22, 2010 2:44 pm

humm, posting deleted by author, hope you got it Vito.

User avatar
scottsee
Post Whore
Posts:
1800
Joined:
Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:45 am
Certs:
NA:R&S, NA:Sec

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Fri Oct 29, 2010 3:40 pm

Wow, these 12U racks are JUNK! Still waiting on 2 more devices and the rack is already having trouble supporting the weight.. :roll:

http://www.cablesandkits.com/12u-freest ... -1119.html

CruxV
Member
Posts:
128
Joined:
Fri Oct 22, 2010 10:12 am
Certs:
VCP5, VCP5-DT, CCNA: Security, CCNA

Re: Should I purchase some additional hardware?

Sat Oct 30, 2010 8:46 am

Yeah, I looked at that one myself when I was buying a rack. I actually went with this one

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... -_-Product

So far, it has 2 2950's, a 3550 and 5 1760's in it... it's actually a sturdy little rack

'
PreviousNext

Return to scottsee's CCNA Journey

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests