All home networking related discussions.
Julie Thomas
New Member
Posts:
6
Joined:
Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:15 am

Which CAT cable do I use to wiring my home network?

Mon Apr 30, 2012 4:57 am

Hi all,

I plan on having an outlet installed in my home office so that I can network directly from my PC to our router downstairs. I an confused between CAT 5 and CAT 6 cable. I plan to go to Home Depot and buy a box but can you please advise on which cable I would use?

Thanks in advance.
Juile

User avatar
mellowd
CCIE #38070
Posts:
13814
Joined:
Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:49 am
Certs:
CCIE (RS,SP), JNCIE-SP, BC-/SPNE/NP

Re: Which CAT cable do I use to wiring my home network?

Mon Apr 30, 2012 5:09 am

Cat5e is good enough. Cat6 can sometimes be a pain as it's more difficult to go around sharp corners. Cat5e is also more than good enough for Gig at home

User avatar
dlots
Post Whore
Posts:
3538
Joined:
Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:48 am
Certs:
CC\NP\DP\IP\NP-Security\NA-Voice

Re: Which CAT cable do I use to wiring my home network?

Mon Apr 30, 2012 7:24 am

mellowd wrote:Cat5e is good enough. Cat6 can sometimes be a pain as it's more difficult to go around sharp corners. Cat5e is also more than good enough for Gig at home


what he said
might find better prices on e-bay than home depo though
Freedom to all the people. Brave, true and strong.
Freedom to all the people. Unless I think you're wrong

dhimes.com

User avatar
wirerat
Post Whore
Posts:
5340
Joined:
Tue Mar 31, 2009 4:15 pm
Certs:
More than none

Re: Which CAT cable do I use to wiring my home network?

Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:36 am

monoprice.com for all your cabling needs. :D
"See packet, be packet, you are packet. Ignore all else!" -The Networker
packetsdropped.wordpress.com

User avatar
erimon
Ultimate Member
Posts:
542
Joined:
Wed May 05, 2010 1:11 pm

Re: Which CAT cable do I use to wiring my home network?

Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:34 pm

wirerat wrote:monoprice.com for all your cabling needs. :D


monoprice kicks ass! Cant beat their prices on patch cables as well.
_________________
Four out of Three people have problems with fractions.

ccmadm1n
New Member
Posts:
27
Joined:
Thu Apr 26, 2012 1:19 pm
Certs:
CCNA / CCNA VOICE

Which CAT cable do I use to wiring my home network?

Tue May 01, 2012 6:26 pm

Go CAT6 if you can
If I had a dollar for every client who went cat 5 when 5e was just coming out, and are now looking to rewire, to go gigabit -

10 gigabit being mainstream is just around the corner. Tech moves forward so fast nowadays, if you are going to go through the trouble to install/upgrade, theres little major reason to not go cat6.

User avatar
ristau5741
Post Whore
Posts:
10547
Joined:
Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:15 pm
Certs:
Instanity

Re: Which CAT cable do I use to wiring my home network?

Wed May 02, 2012 7:51 am

I'd get a Siamese CAT
or a Himalayan CAT
to run the cables

:)
Tips of the day:
- The human mind is the ultimate creation invention.
- I have so many customers, my customers have customers.
- Sausage time
- POP, stack, and store

ccmadm1n
New Member
Posts:
27
Joined:
Thu Apr 26, 2012 1:19 pm
Certs:
CCNA / CCNA VOICE

Which CAT cable do I use to wiring my home network?

Wed May 02, 2012 9:44 am

that would be a CATastrophe! my dog once bit thru my cat 5 and power adapter for my linksys and vonage boxes, when i left him home all day alone.

Another reason to go cat 6 ! tougher for an animal to bite through!

User avatar
that1guy15
Post Whore
Posts:
3224
Joined:
Thu Apr 29, 2010 6:12 pm
Certs:
CCNP, CCDP, CCIP

Re: Which CAT cable do I use to wiring my home network?

Wed May 02, 2012 11:05 am

ccmadm1n wrote:that would be a CATastrophe! my dog once bit thru my cat 5 and power adapter for my linksys and vonage boxes, when i left him home all day alone.

Another reason to go cat 6 ! tougher for an animal to bite through!

I dont kow if i learned it here or from a previous employeer but cable companies actually sell cable with a chemical on it that taste like crap so animals will not chew on the cable.

Sorry to continue taking the thread off in this direction :D

My recommendation is get yourself a box of Cat6 as others have suggested.
http://blog.movingonesandzeros.net/

'

Return to Home Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests