All home networking related discussions.
luketdavis1
New Member
Posts:
13
Joined:
Mon Apr 30, 2012 3:31 pm
Certs:
CCENT

CISCO 2000 series router+48 port switch instead of BTHOMEHUB

Mon Apr 30, 2012 3:45 pm

Evening All,

I am trying to remove my BT Homehub2 and replace it with a router connected to the ADSL line using RJ11 to RJ45 cable in f0/0 configured ip address 86.177.164.200.

F0/1 is configured to 192.168.1.254 (current BT Homehub IP) this is connected to my 48port cisco switch in port GI1/0/48.
VLAN1 set to DHCP and my host is connected to GI1/0/2 and also configured to DHCP.

Ignoring the WAP for now, what am I doing wrong? I know it will be a small IP issue somewhere, do I need to configure GI1/0/48 and GI1/0/2 with IP address'? Am I using the wrong ISP address on my routers F0/0 port?

Any help, config logs would be appreciated.

Below I have copied some info from my BT home hub...

BT HH IP ADDRESS 192.168.1.254
Broadband ADSL Connected
Broadband username bthomehub@btbroadband.com
Connection time 0 days, 00:25:08
Data Transmitted/Received (MB) 3.4 / 2.7
Broadband username bthomehub@btbroadband.com
Password Not configured
TCP/IP settings
Broadband network IP address 86.177.164.200
Default gateway 217.32.144.64
Primary DNS 213.120.234.26
Secondary DNS 213.120.234.74

Thanks in advance. :thankyou:

Haryl87
New Member
Posts:
4
Joined:
Wed May 02, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: CISCO 2000 series router+48 port switch instead of BTHOM

Wed May 02, 2012 3:55 pm

Well my first question would be is, when your connected directly to the ADSL modem do you have connectivity.

luketdavis1
New Member
Posts:
13
Joined:
Mon Apr 30, 2012 3:31 pm
Certs:
CCENT

Re: CISCO 2000 series router+48 port switch instead of BTHOM

Thu May 03, 2012 11:39 am

I had not configured NAT/PAT! looking ok cheers

'

Return to Home Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests