All home networking related discussions.
User avatar
mynd
Ultimate Member
Posts:
883
Joined:
Fri Jul 23, 2010 9:43 am
Certs:
CCNA, A+, Net+, Sec+, Server+

Re: Help! I wired cat5e but cannot connect at gigabit speed!

Mon Apr 29, 2013 11:26 am

put a little sketch together of what you are trying to do, including the front and back pictures of the patch panel.
http://justnetworked.wordpress.com

User avatar
esinteractive
New Member
Posts:
12
Joined:
Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:57 pm

Re: Help! I wired cat5e but cannot connect at gigabit speed!

Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:46 pm

I didn't get the new patch panel yet. But I think I will. Here's what I am looking to do (below). now I CAN put a switch into the box in the laundry room. But then how do I get the switch into the panel so everything can talk?

panel.jpg
panel.jpg (147.73 KiB) Viewed 670 times

User avatar
mynd
Ultimate Member
Posts:
883
Joined:
Fri Jul 23, 2010 9:43 am
Certs:
CCNA, A+, Net+, Sec+, Server+

Re: Help! I wired cat5e but cannot connect at gigabit speed!

Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:01 pm

ok ... you'll want to then take each connection in the patch panel, after you punch down to the back, and plug the rj45 side into a switch. the switch doesn't need to be anything fancy. You'll just want a simple setup (ie: patch panel port 1 to switch port 1; patch panel port 2 to switch port 2; etc etc etc)

--Richard
http://justnetworked.wordpress.com

User avatar
esinteractive
New Member
Posts:
12
Joined:
Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:57 pm

Re: Help! I wired cat5e but cannot connect at gigabit speed!

Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:08 pm

I am confused as to why I would need the switch at all. Are you saying I punch down all the incoming wired on the back? Then I run a cat5 from each port on the front of the patch panel into the switch?

User avatar
mynd
Ultimate Member
Posts:
883
Joined:
Fri Jul 23, 2010 9:43 am
Certs:
CCNA, A+, Net+, Sec+, Server+

Re: Help! I wired cat5e but cannot connect at gigabit speed!

Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:39 pm

exactly
http://justnetworked.wordpress.com

User avatar
esinteractive
New Member
Posts:
12
Joined:
Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:57 pm

Re: Help! I wired cat5e but cannot connect at gigabit speed!

Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:52 pm

That makes perfect sense Richard, thank you.

I have a bunch of switches so I can use one of them. But why would I need the switch at all? Is it for speed purposes? Wouldn't this setup work without the switch?

User avatar
mynd
Ultimate Member
Posts:
883
Joined:
Fri Jul 23, 2010 9:43 am
Certs:
CCNA, A+, Net+, Sec+, Server+

Re: Help! I wired cat5e but cannot connect at gigabit speed!

Mon Apr 29, 2013 7:22 pm

the patch panel does not connect the ports. when you punch down on the back of the panel for port 1, only the front of port one can access that punch down. You can punch down port 1 and port 2 and put a patch cable between them on the front, but that'll only get one connection.

--Richard
http://justnetworked.wordpress.com

User avatar
esinteractive
New Member
Posts:
12
Joined:
Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:57 pm

Re: Help! I wired cat5e but cannot connect at gigabit speed!

Mon Apr 29, 2013 7:34 pm

So if I have 5 rooms to connect: I punch down all 5. Then in EACH of the 5 ports, I attach a Cat5 cable to the switch?

User avatar
mynd
Ultimate Member
Posts:
883
Joined:
Fri Jul 23, 2010 9:43 am
Certs:
CCNA, A+, Net+, Sec+, Server+

Re: Help! I wired cat5e but cannot connect at gigabit speed!

Mon Apr 29, 2013 8:42 pm

correct
http://justnetworked.wordpress.com

User avatar
esinteractive
New Member
Posts:
12
Joined:
Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:57 pm

Re: Help! I wired cat5e but cannot connect at gigabit speed!

Mon Apr 29, 2013 8:48 pm

Thank you so much for all of your help Richard. Much appreciated!

User avatar
esinteractive
New Member
Posts:
12
Joined:
Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:57 pm

Re: Help! I wired cat5e but cannot connect at gigabit speed!

Mon Apr 29, 2013 8:55 pm

Oops! Forgot one more question

So being that my jacks are 568A, then I should punch down in this sequence (see pic)? And of course, I assume that any working Cat5 cables I have will be fine in whatever sequence they are already in for when I attach front of panel to switch.

cat.jpg
cat.jpg (16.09 KiB) Viewed 620 times

User avatar
mynd
Ultimate Member
Posts:
883
Joined:
Fri Jul 23, 2010 9:43 am
Certs:
CCNA, A+, Net+, Sec+, Server+

Re: Help! I wired cat5e but cannot connect at gigabit speed!

Mon Apr 29, 2013 9:32 pm

What you are looking at is an rj-45 termination, not a keystone (wall jack) or patch panel.. The patch patch panel should come with instructions for how to punch down in either A or B. And it is normally color coded for what pairs go where (much like the pic you uploaded of the wall jack earlier).

--Richard
http://justnetworked.wordpress.com

DieselJeeper
Ultimate Member
Posts:
510
Joined:
Wed Aug 03, 2011 12:24 pm
Certs:
MCSE, MCP+I, SEC+ (working on CCENT/CCNA)

Re: Help! I wired cat5e but cannot connect at gigabit speed!

Wed May 01, 2013 9:51 am

erimon wrote:The color code is the TIA/EIA 568 standard. B is typically used in commercial applications while A is generally used in residental.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category_5_cable


This is exactly right.

I don't recall who said "any order of the wires is fine as long as you do the same on both ends"... but this is complete BS, and indicative of someone that I would never allow to work on my wiring plant.

There's a good reason for the pairs to be in the orders they are: several reasons, actually- crosstalk, inductance, capacitance, and on and on- all of which interplay with each other.

If you're going to have an "A" wiring plant, or a "B" wiring plant, stick with that, throughout. Especially if you're going for gig over copper.

Plugging an "A" into a "B" plant will probably work- until the connector pins, or the wiring, degrades the slightest bit. Then you're going to start getting wierd packet drops and start having to chase your tail on this subject, with no real clue what you're doing.

That's fine at home. But at a client's site it is an EXCELLENT way to get a reputation as not knowing what the heck you're doing.

Wire B, stick with it, everywhere. As said before, the B and A specs swap the green and orange pairs.
B is Orange/white; Orange; Green/white; Blue; blue/white; Green; Brown/white; brown... **with the brass facing you, and the opening down".

Easy way to remember when building connectors: "tit out <away from you>, ass down". (the "tit" on the connector is the locking tab. The ass is the opening)

Yes, it's vulgar. But you'll never forget it now. ;) Wire a couple dozen of these jacks wrong and you'll want to remember...

User avatar
ristau5741
Post Whore
Posts:
10505
Joined:
Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:15 pm
Certs:
Instanity

Re: Help! I wired cat5e but cannot connect at gigabit speed!

Wed May 01, 2013 12:07 pm

always good to know. so I add my 2 cents

EIA/TIA 568A on one end and EIA/TIA 568B on the other
makes a crossover cable.
Tips of the day:
- The human mind is the ultimate creation invention.
- I have so many customers, my customers have customers.
- Sausage time
- POP, stack, and store

'
Previous

Return to Home Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests

      cron