Dynamips/GNS3, .net files, and Cisco networking labs.
masterasmit
New Member
Posts:
2
Joined:
Thu May 24, 2012 6:22 pm

vlans and access mode issue

Thu May 24, 2012 6:29 pm

Hi, I am practicing switching on gns3.

What does it mean to have a switch port status :up but protocol:down.
the switchports are configured foe acess vlans.

other trunk ports on switch are working fine up/up and can ping tp router subinterfaces (vlan gateways)

only the access ports are down. when i attach an end device to access ports, cdp can not discover it. any idea?

User avatar
CDelapena2
Member
Posts:
198
Joined:
Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:19 pm
Certs:
CCNA

Re: vlans and access mode issue

Thu May 24, 2012 7:30 pm

Are you practicing switching on a real switch that is just connected to your topology on GNS3? I don't recall GNS3 being able to emulate switching IOSs. An up/down port status means that the port is physically available (which is obvious since it's a virtual port) but that there is a layer 2 issue. Do a show run on the switch and post the output here.
Yo, —embriagado de mis penas,— me devoro,
Y mis miserias lloro,
Y buitre de mí mismo me levanto,
Y me hiero y me curo con mi canto
Buitre a la vez que altivo Prometeo.—

masterasmit
New Member
Posts:
2
Joined:
Thu May 24, 2012 6:22 pm

Re: vlans and access mode issue

Thu May 24, 2012 8:27 pm

CDelapena2 wrote:Are you practicing switching on a real switch that is just connected to your topology on GNS3? I don't recall GNS3 being able to emulate switching IOSs. An up/down port status means that the port is physically available (which is obvious since it's a virtual port) but that there is a layer 2 issue. Do a show run on the switch and post the output here.

i m using router with 16nmesw module as switch.
Attachments
swsh.jpg
show on switch
swsh.jpg (216.59 KiB) Viewed 581 times

'

Return to Dynamips/GNS3 and Labs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests