Cisco Works, SNMP, MIBs.
User avatar
Project2501
Post Whore
Posts:
6158
Joined:
Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:44 pm
Certs:
CCNA

SCP on Nexus 5k

Wed Jun 13, 2012 8:33 pm

I figured I could scp the files to a 5k but this didn't go as planned.

Trying to find some documentation on copying files from one device (linux) to a Nexus lead me to several cisco documents on how to scp files between local file systems but very little detail regarding the caveats of scp-ing files to or from a nexus. This doco shows an example of commands and syntax used and following this I still had no luck. For posterity sake I've included them below.

You can use secure copy (scp) as the transfer mechanism, as follows:
scp:[//[username@]server][/path]

This example copies /etc/hosts from 172.22.36.10 to hosts.txt, for user user1:
switch# copy scp://user1@172.22.36.10/etc/hosts bootflash:hosts.txt


As it turns out SCP needs to be configured and enabled as a feature. The exmaple is from a 7k but the output is the same for a 5k.

n7000# show feature
Feature Name Instance State
-------------------- -------- --------
bfd 1 disabled
bfd_app 1 disabled
bgp 1 disabled
<CLI Output Omitted>
ospf 1 enabled
ospf 2 enabled (not-running)
ospf 3 enabled (not-running)
ospf 4 enabled (not-running)
ospfv3 1 disabled
ospfv3 2 disabled
ospfv3 3 disabled
ospfv3 4 disabled
otv 1 disabled
pbr 1 disabled
pim 1 enabled (not-running)
pim6 1 disabled
<CLI Output Omitted>
vrrp 1 disabled
vtp 1 disabled
wccp 1 disabled


But I have the sshServer feature enabled and it's running right now! No that doesn't' matter you need to do something else. After a while a stumbled upon Peter's CCIE rants. It's a very brief but important article explaining configuration is required before SCP can be used.

Super quickly you might want to check out the following blog post for a quick review on how to copy using SCP:
http://www.ccierants.com/2011/06/great- ... cisco.html

To enable this exact same functionality on a Nexus:

Nexus(config)#feature scp-server

Done! You can now copy using SCP :)


When trying to configure the above there was no SCP option. It could be I don't have the feature license installed that includes SCP or things have changed and this configuration is no longer required. More things to read and learn about.
- Pete

User avatar
Dinger
Post Whore
Posts:
1397
Joined:
Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:16 pm
Certs:
CCNP, CCNA:Sec, MCSE

Re: SCP on Nexus 5k

Thu Jun 14, 2012 8:14 am

My 5ks don't have that option either; my 5Ks run 5.0(3)N2(1) with ENTERPRISE_PKG and FC_FEATURES_PKG licenses.
"A problem well stated is a problem half solved". (Charles Kettering)

Otanx
Post Whore
Posts:
1181
Joined:
Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:37 pm
Certs:
CCNP, CEH

Re: SCP on Nexus 5k

Thu Jun 14, 2012 9:32 am

On my 5k with 5.0(3)N2(1) I was able to do a copy run scp: without a problem. Being in my lab I don't have anything to use to transfer the file to/from, but it looks like it works.

-Otanx
Stay networked, my friends.

'

Return to Cisco Network Management

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests