All other Cisco networking related discussions.
Bearnstein
New Member
Posts:
4
Joined:
Thu Jul 19, 2012 11:01 pm

Cisco Layered Switches?

Mon Jul 23, 2012 1:13 pm

Hello,

I'm new and just entered in the world of studying my certification for Cisco :D , since I'm curious I see that there are switches that can perform task depending on the layer? :thinking: I see some with specifics for Layer 2, some other for layer 3 and even some others with router capabilities! :shock:

I know this is a rookie question but how do I know what the best switch for a network? or how can I identify them?

Thanks for any input in the topic :thankyou:

User avatar
ristau5741
Post Whore
Posts:
9958
Joined:
Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:15 pm
Certs:
Instanity

Re: Cisco Layered Switches?

Mon Jul 23, 2012 1:35 pm

you need to identify the services and traffic that will traverse the switch, this will tell you what type of switch you need, be it layer 2, 3, 4, etc
depending on the switch model, make, you can identify them by looking at the number of port on the device, routers usually will have only 2,3 or so
ports, switches will have dozens of ports 12, 24, 48, etc.
Tips of the day:
- The human mind is the ultimate creation invention.
- "Emergency Belkin. $40........................Boom."
- "I see" said the blind man pissing into the wind, "it's all coming back to me".
- Sausage time

Bearnstein
New Member
Posts:
4
Joined:
Thu Jul 19, 2012 11:01 pm

Re: Cisco Layered Switches?

Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:12 pm

Thanks man!!

suler
New Member
Posts:
4
Joined:
Fri Jul 27, 2012 3:59 pm
Certs:
CCNP route

Re: Cisco Layered Switches?

Sun Jul 29, 2012 3:48 pm

obiviously its depends upon your network.. by the 2900 series & Catalyst 6500 series are famous series.
CCNP Route Labs
http://commonerrors.blogspot.com/p/ccnp-route-642-902-exam-labs.html

'

Return to Cisco General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests