All other Cisco networking related discussions.
User avatar
m4rtin
Senior Member
Posts:
406
Joined:
Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:06 pm

make Cisco terminal output wider

Tue May 29, 2012 3:48 am

In Cisco routers "terminal width" should control the width of the display terminal. In case I set "terminal width 512" and execute for example "sh ip bg neighbors 10.10.10.157 routes":

Code: Select all
*  10.10.10.156/30 202.76.54.157                          0 65234 i
*> 192.168.4.68/30
                    192.168.4.157                          0 65234 12 i
*> 192.168.1.69/32
                    192.168.1.157                          0 65234 4 i
*> 172.16.23.228/30 172.16.23.157                          0 65234 12 1 i



..I still see the output bit overlapped. I would like to have following output:

Code: Select all
*  10.10.10.156/30  202.76.54.157                          0 65234 i
*> 192.168.4.68/30  192.168.4.157                          0 65234 12 i
*> 192.168.1.69/32  192.168.1.157                          0 65234 4 i
*> 172.16.23.228/30 172.16.23.157                          0 65234 12 1 i


Is there a to make Cisco terminal output wider?

User avatar
ristau5741
Post Whore
Posts:
10484
Joined:
Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:15 pm
Certs:
Instanity

Re: make Cisco terminal output wider

Tue May 29, 2012 7:57 am

I just click and drag the terminal window to make it wider.
Tips of the day:
- The human mind is the ultimate creation invention.
- I have so many customers, my customers have customers.
- Sausage time
- POP, stack, and store

User avatar
m4rtin
Senior Member
Posts:
406
Joined:
Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:06 pm

Re: make Cisco terminal output wider

Sat Jun 16, 2012 9:22 pm

ristau5741 wrote:I just click and drag the terminal window to make it wider.


Yes, but this works up to certain extent :) I mean if you execute for example "show interfaces status" in Cisco switch, then you can have the terminal window in full screen on a 1080x1920 monitor, but still the Name column is not fully shown.
Is there a possibility to control the width of the Cisco terminal?

User avatar
Vito_Corleone
Moderator
Posts:
9850
Joined:
Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:38 am
Certs:
CCNP RS, CCNP DC, CCDP, CCIP

Re: make Cisco terminal output wider

Sat Jun 16, 2012 9:27 pm

Use a better client?
http://blog.alwaysthenetwork.com

Snuffleupagus
Member
Posts:
131
Joined:
Thu Feb 12, 2009 5:23 pm

Re: make Cisco terminal output wider

Sat Jun 16, 2012 9:47 pm

"terminal width x" should change it for the session (from exec). "width" should change it on a specific line.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/ios/fun ... #wp1004646
http://blog.switchedbits.net/

'

Return to Cisco General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests