All other Cisco networking related discussions.
sharky
Junior Member
Posts:
83
Joined:
Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:08 am
Certs:
CCNA

I need an access server

Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:01 am

Hi networking guys !

My homelab grows and now I need an access server. I surf on ebay.com an I got a bunch of different routers.

Cisco AS2509 - 2512
Cisco AS5200
Cisco AS5300

I found a video to setup an access server from Chris Brian and he recommends to take a AS2509.
I found some AS5200 which are cheaper. What's the different between these AS?
I can't see the "large serial ports" on these. I don't know how can I call these ports. On the AS5200 I can't see one of the these ports, where I have to plug in my octal cable.

please help !

best regards sharky
http://twitter.com/dersharky

User avatar
cjutting
Post Whore
Posts:
1083
Joined:
Wed Sep 16, 2009 3:16 pm

Re: I need an access server

Sun Dec 13, 2009 9:32 am

How many devices are currently in your lab?

My quick search on ebay gave me THIS

I would think it would be plenty for a home lab...

EDIT:

When you look at the picture for this link look to the very left and it's a very thin and long connection. If I remember correctly the 2509 gives you 8 octal connections and the 2511 gives you 16, but someone correct me if I'm wrong

User avatar
jocke
Ultimate Member
Posts:
655
Joined:
Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:56 pm
Certs:
Yes

Re: I need an access server

Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:19 am

cjutting wrote:If I remember correctly the 2509 gives you 8 octal connections and the 2511 gives you 16, but someone correct me if I'm wrong

You remember correctly :)

As an alternative to the 2509 and 2511 w/ octal cables, you can look for 2509-RJ and 2511-RJ. Instead of the octal-cables, they have individual RJ45-ports. Depends on what you like/want.
The Internet: where men are men, women are men, and children are FBI agents.

http://tech.jocke.no/

ZeroZeroFourteen
Ultimate Member
Posts:
596
Joined:
Wed Nov 11, 2009 12:25 am

Re: I need an access server

Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:33 pm

You could also get and NM16A module to do the same.

Costs more than a 2509 but also allows for ssh if you want to remote into your lab securely.

User avatar
jocke
Ultimate Member
Posts:
655
Joined:
Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:56 pm
Certs:
Yes

Re: I need an access server

Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:42 pm

ZeroZeroFourteen wrote:Costs more than a 2509 but also allows for ssh if you want to remote into your lab securely.

2509 and 2511 runs 12.2 just fine - hence they have the possibility to run SSH.
The Internet: where men are men, women are men, and children are FBI agents.

http://tech.jocke.no/

sharky
Junior Member
Posts:
83
Joined:
Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:08 am
Certs:
CCNA

Re: I need an access server

Sun Dec 13, 2009 2:36 pm

Thanks for so many posts. I think I must choose the 2511, because eight Ports are too few.

Ough I have to think about it, the 2511 is very expensive and I can only find one AS2511 on the german ebay for 250euro thats a lot !
http://twitter.com/dersharky

'

Return to Cisco General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests