ASA/PIX, IDS, IPS, VPN, Cisco Secure ACS, AAA, ISE.
kamarale
Member
Posts:
128
Joined:
Tue Mar 15, 2011 8:07 am
Certs:
CCNA

Cisco Routers and Active Directory

Tue May 29, 2012 8:26 am

Hello,if I want to authenticate users based on Active directory I need a Radius right? I can´t do it without the Radius can I?

Thanks.

Regards.

PCgeek215
New Member
Posts:
49
Joined:
Sat May 28, 2011 8:23 am
Certs:
CCNP R&S, CCNA-V, CCNA-Sec, CUC Spec.

Re: Cisco Routers and Active Directory

Tue May 29, 2012 9:07 am

That is correct, you need at least RADIUS if not ACS / TACACS+.

However, there is a RADIUS role built into windows server 2003 (Internet Authentication Service) and server 2008 / R2 (Network Policy and Access Service) so that is an easy solution.

User avatar
burnyd
Post Whore
Posts:
3159
Joined:
Fri Nov 13, 2009 5:15 pm
Certs:
CCIE R&S/SP,CCNP-SP,JNCIA,VCP510,VCA-DCV

Re: Cisco Routers and Active Directory

Tue May 29, 2012 9:28 am

http://www.richstevenson.com/2009/04/14 ... -switches/

I use it at home to authenticate for all my access points.. Im even nerdy enough to enable it on my 1 router and 3 home switches.
http://danielhertzberg.wordpress.com - I blog about networks!

'

Return to Cisco Security

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests