RIP, EIGRP, OSPF, IS-IS, BGP, MPLS, VTP, STP.
User avatar
S0lo
New Member
Posts:
46
Joined:
Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:39 am

Difference between Lite Entry and Base 2960 switches

Sun Jul 01, 2012 1:59 am

Thinking of getting one of those 8-port 2960 for a CCNP study. Is the difference between the C2960-8TC-S and the C2960-8TC-L models in Hardware, or in IOS? or both? And if it's in IOS, is the S upgradable to L?

I can't seam to find some decent info about it.

User avatar
davidrothera
Ultimate Member
Posts:
992
Joined:
Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:10 pm
Certs:
CCIE R&S #38338, CCNP, CCIP

Re: Difference between Lite Entry and Base 2960 switches

Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:18 am

They area slightly different hardware wise and therefore cannot be upgraded at a later time.

The -S means 'LAN Lite' and the -L means 'LAN Base'

The Lite/-S is the more basic device and can't do some of the more advanced features of the LAN Base model (like QoS).
---
David
CCIE R&S #38338, CCIP, CCNP

http://networkbroadcast.co.uk - My Blog
http://twitter.com/davidrothera

User avatar
S0lo
New Member
Posts:
46
Joined:
Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:39 am

Re: Difference between Lite Entry and Base 2960 switches

Sun Jul 01, 2012 12:53 pm

Thanks allot davidrothera, Thats what I wanted to know :)

davidrothera wrote:The -S means 'LAN Lite' and the -L means 'LAN Base'


And thats why I couldn't find any thing, I was googling wrong :oops:

dgrizzard
Senior Member
Posts:
348
Joined:
Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:50 pm
Certs:
CCNP, CCDA, ISE Field Engineer

Re: Difference between Lite Entry and Base 2960 switches

Sun Jul 01, 2012 6:16 pm

I would recommend getting a 3550 off ebay and some 2950s..

User avatar
dnetworks
Junior Member
Posts:
66
Joined:
Wed May 09, 2012 10:44 pm
Certs:
CCNP

Re: Difference between Lite Entry and Base 2960 switches

Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:55 pm

3560 if you want to do private vlans, 3550 doesn't do them. Just a FYI
http://www.defendingnetworks.com/

User avatar
S0lo
New Member
Posts:
46
Joined:
Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:39 am

Re: Difference between Lite Entry and Base 2960 switches

Mon Jul 02, 2012 1:17 am

Thanks guys, I already have a 3550 and a 2950 at home. I need a small switch to practice at work along with my other 2950. Besides I live outside US and shipping those heavy 24/48 ports ends up costing much more than their price at ebay. The newer 8 ports would eventually cost nearly the same.

I finally settled for an 8 port 3560

User avatar
mellowd
CCIE #38070
Posts:
13814
Joined:
Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:49 am
Certs:
CCIE (RS,SP), JNCIE-SP, BC-/SPNE/NP

Re: Difference between Lite Entry and Base 2960 switches

Mon Jul 02, 2012 1:24 am

dnetworks wrote:3560 if you want to do private vlans, 3550 doesn't do them. Just a FYI


And IPv6 and the QoS is completely different. But these few things can be done on rack rentals while 95% of everything else can be done on much cheaper 3550s

Reggle
Post Whore
Posts:
1948
Joined:
Sun May 15, 2011 4:16 pm
Certs:
CCNA Security, CCNP, CCDP

Re: Difference between Lite Entry and Base 2960 switches

Mon Jul 02, 2012 5:23 am

S0lo wrote:I finally settled for an 8 port 3560

You'll love that one. Good choice.
http://reggle.wordpress.com

'

Return to Cisco Routing and Switching

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Fred, Google Feedfetcher and 21 guests