RIP, EIGRP, OSPF, IS-IS, BGP, MPLS, VTP, STP.
totaluser
Member
Posts:
217
Joined:
Sun Mar 13, 2011 3:03 pm
Certs:
CCNA, CCNP, CCDA

OSPFv3 multiple instances on a single interface

Sat Aug 04, 2012 6:51 am

Hello everybody,
I am Implementing Cisco IP Routing (CCNP ROUTE FLG) book and right now I am reviewing IPv6 chapter.
This part of OSPFv3 multiple instances over a single physical interface caught my attention
OSPFv3.png
OSPFv3.png (159.41 KiB) Viewed 744 times

According to the Figure 8-27, each router is connected via a single interface to a shared segment.
R3 is running only one instance, Instance 1
R4 is running only one instance, Instance 2
R1 and R2 are running both instances

I wanted to see this running (since no example configuration for this feature was provided), so I fired up my GNS3, connected 4 routers (C2691-ADVIPSERVICESK9-M, Version 12.4(15)T12) via a single Ethernet switch and eventually ended without getting it to work :oops:

I configured IPv6 addresses in Fa0/0 interfaces and verified connectivity (directly connected neighbors' Fa0/0s could be pinged)
I enabled
Code: Select all
ipv6 unicast-routing

I created
Code: Select all
ipv6 router ospf 1
process and assigned a unique router ID to every router
under R3 Fa0/0 interface I configured
Code: Select all
ipv6 ospf 1 area 0 instance 1

under R4 Fa0/0 interface I configured
Code: Select all
ipv6 ospf 1 area 0 instance 2

under R2 Fa0/0 interface I configured
Code: Select all
ipv6 ospf 1 area 0 instance 1
ipv6 ospf 1 area 0 instance 2

under R1 Fa0/0 interface I configured
Code: Select all
ipv6 ospf 1 area 0 instance 1
ipv6 ospf 1 area 0 instance 2



everything was running fine for instance 2 but no neighbors came up for instance 1
I checked the running-configuration and only the latter command for instance 2 was there

I tried it with separate OSPF proecesses on R1 and R2 e.g.
Code: Select all
ipv6 ospf 1 area 0 instance 1
ipv6 ospf 2 area 0 instance 2

but it only took the latter command (the first one was overwritten with the second one)

Apparently it only takes 1
Code: Select all
ipv6 ospf PROCESS-ID area AREA-ID
command per interface

Could anybody please tell me what am I doing wrong?
How can I run multiple instances of OSPFv3 over a single physical interface as shown in the book ?

Thank you very much for any answers in advance

dgrizzard
Senior Member
Posts:
337
Joined:
Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:50 pm
Certs:
CCNP, CCDA, ISE Field Engineer

Re: OSPFv3 multiple instances on a single interface

Sat Aug 04, 2012 2:40 pm

It looks like to me you should still use the same process id just different instance ids.

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk 2

totaluser
Member
Posts:
217
Joined:
Sun Mar 13, 2011 3:03 pm
Certs:
CCNA, CCNP, CCDA

Re: OSPFv3 multiple instances on a single interface

Sat Aug 04, 2012 2:44 pm

I tried that
Code: Select all
(config-if) ipv6 ospf 1 area 0 instance 1

ok, neighborship with instance 1 neighbors came up
I entered another command for instance 2
Code: Select all
(config-if) ipv6 ospf 1 area 0 instance 2

neighborships for instance 1 went down, came up for instance 2

I did show run int f0/0
and only the latter command was there, e.g. the 1st one was overwritten

dgrizzard
Senior Member
Posts:
337
Joined:
Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:50 pm
Certs:
CCNP, CCDA, ISE Field Engineer

Re: OSPFv3 multiple instances on a single interface

Sat Aug 04, 2012 3:06 pm

Need to be different areas

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk 2

totaluser
Member
Posts:
217
Joined:
Sun Mar 13, 2011 3:03 pm
Certs:
CCNA, CCNP, CCDA

Re: OSPFv3 multiple instances on a single interface

Sat Aug 04, 2012 3:38 pm

I tried that one as well

Code: Select all
R1(config)#ipv6 unicast-routing
R1(config)#ipv6 router ospf 1
R1(config-rtr)#
*Mar  1 00:00:42.603: %OSPFv3-4-NORTRID: OSPFv3 process 1 could not pick a router-id,
please configure manually
R1(config-rtr)#router-id 0.0.0.1
R1(config-rtr)#int lo0
R1(config-if)#ipv6 address 2001::1/64
R1(config-if)#ipv6 ospf 1 area 0 instance 1
R1(config-if)#ipv6 ospf 1 area 1 instance 2
R1#sh run int lo0
Building configuration...

Current configuration : 98 bytes
!
interface Loopback0
 no ip address
 ipv6 address 2001::1/64
 ipv6 ospf 1 area 1 instance 2
end


again the latter command has overwritten the previous one

dgrizzard
Senior Member
Posts:
337
Joined:
Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:50 pm
Certs:
CCNP, CCDA, ISE Field Engineer

Re: OSPFv3 multiple instances on a single interface

Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:29 pm

According to the below (from here) you need to use one instance per address-family. So one instance for IPv4 and one for IPv6.

A single IPv4 or IPv6 OSPFv3 process running multiple instances on the same interface is not supported.


An OSPFv3 process can be configured to be either IPv4 or IPv6. The address-family command is used to determine which AF will run in the OSPFv3 process, and only one address family can be configured per instance. Once the AF is selected, users can enable multiple instances on a link and enable address-family-specific commands.


Code: Select all
 Enabling OSPFv3 on an Interface
SUMMARY STEPS

1. enable
2. configure terminal
3. interface type number
4. ospfv3 process-id area area-ID {ipv4 | ipv6} [instance instance-id]
    or
    ipv6 ospf process-id area area-id [instance instance-id]

totaluser
Member
Posts:
217
Joined:
Sun Mar 13, 2011 3:03 pm
Certs:
CCNA, CCNP, CCDA

Re: OSPFv3 multiple instances on a single interface

Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:09 am

thank you very much
I need to hunt for a new enough IOS to test it in GNS3 since none of our 2811 have enough RAM to run anything more than 12.4T

'

Return to Cisco Routing and Switching

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 3d1l, alienkidmj12 and 59 guests